AM 7. Project Plan
Introduction “Progress tracking” based on a Project Plan and Assignments and Progress is an improved feature in Paratext 9.1 that impacts the day-to-day work of translation teams.
Before you start Before you can add the plan, the project must have been created/or migrated.
Why is this Important There are many tasks to be done in a translation project. It is important to have a system to ensure that all of these are done. It is also good to have an easy way to generate reports for supervisors and funders (see PP2: Project Plan Report).
Setting up a project plan from scratch is daunting. Various Bible translation organizations (UBS/ABU, SIL and The Seed Company) include "basic" plans that can be applied to projects. Teams need only customize these plans within the limits set by their organizations.
Typically, organizations want conformity at the “Stage” level in order to facilitate meaningful tracking of the progress of project across the entire organization. However, every plan will need to be customized at the task level.
If a task is important to you and your team and you want to track its progress, then it can be included in the project plan (even if it doesn't require Paratext to do the task).
What are you going to do? You will use a combination of two features: the settings of the Project Plan and the Assignments and Progress (sometimes referred to as “progress tracking”) to manage the plan by assigning team members to tasks, and tracking their progress in completing those tasks.
- Add the organizational base plan to the project (remove an old plan if necessary)
- Customize the plan for the team by adding/deleting and moving tasks
- Assign the tasks to the various team members.
- Update the base plan whenever there is a new version.
7.1 Add the organisational base plan
If you have an existing plan, you need to remove that plan before you can add another plan. (See below for instructions.)
- ≡ Tab, under Project > Project settings choose Project plan
- Click Manage plans
- Click on the drop down arrow below Show Base Plan
- Choose your organisational base plan
- Click the Copy Plan arrow.
- Click OK twice.
- The plan and its tasks are added to the project, and the blue Assignments and Progress button appears.
Remove an old plan
If the project has an old plan, you need to delete each of the current stages before adding a new base plan.
- ≡ Tab, under Project Project plan settings
- Click Manage plans
- Click in a stage
- Click the Remove Stage button
- Click Yes (twice) once to confirm you want to modify the plan, and again to confirm you want to delete the tasks in the stage.
- Repeat for remaining stages
- Add the new plan (see above)